banner banner banner

Lia Knight
Lia Knight
7:00pm - 12:00am
Make A Request
My Profile
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Latest Sports Stories

(Harlan) Two Harlan Community Coaches received some high honors.

Angie Spangenberg was named 4A Coach of the Year of the year for Volleyball by IGCA & Doug Renkly was named 3A Boys Cross Country At Large Coach of the year.


Spangenberg led the Cyclones to their first ever state volleyball championship. The Cyclones topped Solon three-sets to one to capture the 4A title and finish with an overall record of 37-4. Three Cyclone players were named to the 4A All-tournament team including; Jess Schaben, Captain, and Asia Kloewer and Taylor Frederick.


Below is the complete Coaches of the year divided into their respective classes:


1A Coach of the Year: Shelly Sorensen Janesville

2A Coach of the Year: Diane Harms Dike-New Hartford

3A Coach of the Year: John Mouw MOC FV

4A Coach of the Year: Angie Spangenberg Harlan

5A Coach of the Year: Diane Lichtenberg Bettendorf


Harlan Cross Country Coach Doug Renkly led the Cyclones to a Class 3A District title and a ninth place finish at the state meet in Fort Dodge. Harlan also finished second in the Hawkeye Ten Conference meet in Red Oak.