banner banner banner

KSOM Weekends
12:00am - 9:00am
KSOM Weekends
Make A Request
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Latest Sports Stories

(Des Moines) The Harlan Cyclone's third straight trip to the state tournament came to an end with a 7-2 loss to Clear Lake on Friday afternoon. The Cyclones end the season at 29-8 and finish one game shy of reaching the state finals for what would have been a 2nd time in three years.


Clear Lake recorded four hits in the first inning to jump out to a 4-0 advantage out of the gates. The Lions sent 8 batters to the plate in the first frame. Clear Lake added one more hit and one more run in the 2nd inning to lead 6-0. Two Harlan errors in the 2nd inning proved to be very costly in allowing the two runs to score. Three more Clear Lake hits in the third yielded one more run and a 7-0 advantage. That score would hold until the 6th when Harlan had Nate Gettys and Dillon Sears walk to lead off this inning. Jake Daeges then delivered the first Harlan hit of the game which loaded the bases for David Ratigan. Ratigan delivered with a two-RBI hit down the left field line to score Gettys and Sears, but Daeges got caught in a run down between 2nd and 3rd which haulted Harlan's momentum. The next two batters were quickly retired to end any comback hopes. The Cyclones went down 1-2-3 in the 7th as Clear Lake turned their third double play of the game.


Nick Kaufman suffered the loss for Harlan. He threw one inning and was charged with four runs on four hits. Jake Daeges went the rest of the way in relief and gave up five hits. Niether pitcher recorded a strikeout or a walk. Clear Lake ace starter Gavin Sheakley was as good as advertised. The senior came in with an ERA of 1.07 and a 12-0 record. He pitched five no-hit innings before giving up the two hits and two runs in the 6th.


Clear Lake improves to 37-3 heading into the championship game against Assumption, Davenport. Harlan, who started three eighth-graders, one freshman, and four juniors in the game says goodbye to David Ratigan, Jake Daeges, and Joe Schwery. Ratigan and Daeges were each three year starters.



Hide Comments