banner banner banner

Lia Knight
Lia Knight
7:00pm - 12:00am
Make A Request
My Profile
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Latest Sports Stories

(Des Moines) In their sixth shot at a boys state basketball tournament championship since 1998, the Harlan Cyclones fell to Waverly-Shell Rock 48-41. Harlan took top honors in 2004 and 2006, but were unable match that in 2013.


Despite holding Waverly-Shell Rock leading scorers Klinton Carlson and Jake Velky scoreless in the first quarter, the Cyclones still found themselves down two after the first eight minutes. The Cyclones saw their own leading scorer, Trey Lansman, take a seat late in the first with two personal fouls. The Cyclones though showed no signs of concern without Lansman as they built an eight point second quarter lead. That eight point advantage would not last long however as Waverly-Shell Rock closed out the 2nd quarter with an 11-2 run that gave them a three point cushion.


Harlan's second half shooting cooled considerably hitting just 6/20 from the field and only 3/13 from three. A 5-0 run by Waverly-Shell Rock stretched the Harlan deficit from 4 to 9. Harlan wouldn't get any closer until the final minute of play.


Click here for postgame comments from Harlan coach Mitch Osborn


Juniors Trey Lansman and Gabe Ferry each scored 14 points for runner-up Harlan. Lansman and teammate Adam Juhl, who scored 17 in the semi-finals, were named all tournament team selections.


Click here for postgame comments from Harlan junior Trey Lansman

Hide Comments