banner banner banner

Sarah Lewis
12:00am - 6:00am
Sarah Lewis
Make A Request
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Latest Sports Stories

(Ames) The Iowa State Hall of Fame was established in 1997 and 142 Cyclone legends have been enshrined. The following candidates will be honored during halftome of the Iowa State vs Western Illinois football game on September 15th.

Samuel Beyer- Administration

-Iowa State's first athletics director (1896-1908) and "Godfather" of athletics at Iowa State.
-Iowa State's first faculty representative for athletics.
-Active in the formation of the Missouri Valley Conference, Iowa State's first league affiliation.
-Major player in the formation of the National Intercollegiate Athletic Association, which later evolved into the NCAA.

Carl Brettschneider- Football

-Standout lineman for Iowa State (1950-52) and team co-captain in 1952.
-Played eight years in the NFL (1956-63).
-Named Sporting News First-Team All-Pro as a member of the Detroit Lions in 1962.

Kevin Darkus- Wrestling

-Three-time All-American at 118 and 126 pounds (1982, 1983, 1984).
-Three-time Big Eight champion (1982, 1983, 1984).
-1984 NCAA champion at 126 pounds, defeating Michigan's Joe McFarland, 9-6.
-Compiled 118 career wins.
-Won the Silver Medal at the 1985 World Championships.


Dmitry Drozdov- Track & Field/Cross Country

-Eight-time All-American (1993-96).
-Won the steeplechase at the 1996 NCAA Outdoor Championships.
-Only Cyclone in school history to earn All-America honors four times in the same event (steeplechase).
-Two-time All-American in cross country (1994, 1995).
-Helped Iowa State win the 1994 NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Andrew Parker- Basketball

-Two-time First-Team All-Big Eight selection (1978, 1979).
-UPI Honorable Mention All-American in 1978.
-One of three players in school history to lead the conference in scoring multiple times.
-Was the 46th pick in the 1979 NBA Draft to the Washington Bullets.

Diane Vetter- Track & Field/Cross Country

-Four-time All-American (1978 & 1981).
-Won seven Big Eight individual championships.
-Helped Iowa State to a pair of AIAW Cross Country national titles (1977 & 1978).
-Won the Big Eight Indoor 1,000-yard run all four seasons (1978-81).
-Was the runner-up national champion in the AIAW Outdoor 4X800 Relay twice (1978 & 1981).


Gene Williams- Football

-Four-year letterwinner on the offensive line (1987-90).
-Two-time All-Big Eight pick, earning first-team accolades as a senior in 1990.
-Was voted team co-captain and was named an All-American by Gannett News in 1990.
-Started 65 games in his NFL career.
-Started at right guard for the Atlanta Falcons in Super Bowl XXXIII.


Dedric Willoughby- Basketball

-Two-time first-team all-conference pick (1996, 1997) and All-American in 1997.
-1996 Big Eight Newcomer of the Year and MVP of the 1996 Big Eight Tournament.
-Led Iowa State to the final Big Eight Tournament title (1996) and 1997 NCAA Sweet Sixteen.
-Only two-year player in Iowa State's 1,000-point club (1,186), averaging 19.8 ppg.
-Ended career as the school-record-holder in treys in a game (9), season (102) and career (190).
-Ranked fourth nationally in 3-pointers per game in 1997 (3.8).
-Played a season in the NBA with the Chicago Bulls.