banner banner banner

Lia Knight
Lia Knight
7:00pm - 12:00am
Make A Request
My Profile
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Latest Sports Stories

(State)  Members of the 2012 Iowa High School Athletic Association Football Players Hall of Fame Class have been released.      

Rollie Wiebers of Denison is on the list. Wiebers is described by the IHSAA as an all-purpose quarterback he could run as well as pass. His final three seasons (19-8) he helped the Monarchs to more wins than they had the previous five years. They missed the playoffs after an 8-1 campaign his senior season. He was special mention all-state at a time when all-classes were considered as one in the selections. At Buena Vista he had a record setting career and is a member of their hall of fame. He presently is the Superintendent of Schools at Charter Oak-Ute.

Rounding out the 2012 class are Carey Bender, Marion (1990); Chris Coffman, Sigourney-Keota (1992); Jared DeVries, Aplington-Parkersburg (1994); Justin Hartwig, Valley, West Des Moines (1997); and Jason Olejniczak, Decorah (1989).

The 2012 Hall of Fame Class will be honored during the Class 4A State Championship game this fall.


The six new inductees boost the hall-of-fame list to 154 from 100 high schools and spans the years 1916 through 1996. Coffman, DeVries, Hartwig and Wiebers are each their school's first player to be honored. A player is not eligible until he has been graduated from high school at least 10 years.

Press Release