banner banner banner

Sarah Lewis
2:00pm - 7:00pm
Sarah Lewis
Make A Request
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Latest Sports Stories

(State)  Three outstanding prep athletes and a veteran coach will be inducted into the Iowa Association of Track Coaches' Hall of Fame, December 6.


Joining the elite Hall are Atlantic's Cortney Jacobs, Oxford Junction's Phil Coppess and Okoboji's Kristen (Hansen) Dennis plus Dave Vogelgesang, Tipton's cross country-track coach and former athletics director .


The new honorees will be inducted at the noon IATC Banquet, in Ames, December 6, 2014.  Complete Hall of Fame info and banquet information is available at the IATC website:


Cortney Jacobs-Atlantic HS 2004
11 time state champion (combination of individual and relay titles)
4 time state champion in 400M.
Broke 3A state meet 400M record in 2003.
Anchored 7 Drake Relays winning relays (4 in SMR and 3 in 4x4)
Member of IGHSAU Hall of Fame
Three time top 10 finisher at state Cross Country meet.
Letter winner and All B12 performer at Kansas


Phil Coppess-Oxford Jct. HS 1972
1971 2 mile state champion
1971 Mile team race champion
1971 XC champion
1972 state indoor 2 mile champion
Set state Class C record for Indoor and Outdoor 2 mile in 1972
# 1 ranked US Marathoner in 1985 by Track and Field News
Once held World record for 30K and US Record for 20 miles
Ran 2:10.05 to win 1985 Twin Cities Marathon


Kristin (Hansen) Dennis-Okoboji HS 2002
State XC meet career placing: 4th, 1st, 1st, 1st.
State Track Meet career placing:
800M 2nd, 1st, 1st, 1st.
1500M 2nd, 1st, 1st, 1st.
3,000M 1st, 1st, 1st, 1st.
2002 Iowa Gatorade Female Track Athlete of the Year
7 time All Big 12 selection at Missouri
On 2 NCAA Qualifying XC teams at Missouri


Dave Vogelgesang-Tipton: Head Cross Country & Track and Field Coach and AD at Tipton for 31 years.
His Boys Track and Field teams won 4 team titles
His Boys Track and Field athletes won 12 state individual/relay titles.
His Boys/Girls Cross Country teams won 6 team titles and 4 individual titles.
He was nominated for High School Coach of the Year twice.
He was IATC 2A State Coach of the Year 3 times.
He won 13 IATC Region Coach of the Year Honors.


Iowa Association of Track Coaches

Hide Comments