Harlan School Board Accepts Early Retirement Requests

(Harlan) Five Harlan educators are taking advantage of the districts early retirement incentive.

On Monday the School Board accepted early retirement requests from Transportation Director Matt Koesters, School Nurse and Health Occupational Teacher and HOSA Sponsor Nancy Osborn, Business Teacher Diana Rauterkus, High School Science Teacher Brent Rucker, and Middle School Instructional Coach, Instructional Leader and Math Bee Sponsor, Kim Zaccone.

“The retirement plan is an incentive for the school employee as well as a management tool for the district,” explained Harlan Interim Schools Superintendent Lynn Johnson. “The board will review whether or not they will offer early retirement on an annual basis. But they did choose to offer it this year.”

The Harlan School Board also accepted the resignation of Brooke Wilson, Head Softball Coach, and approved the contract for Katie Arentson, High School Special Education Associate.